About LU

LU at a Glance

Lorestan University started in 1977 as the northern branch of the Jundishapur University of Ahvaz (Shahid Chamran University). In 1979, the Lorestan Branch was separated from Shahid Chamran University and continued its activities as Lorestan Higher Education Institute with four Departments of Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology. In 1993, coinciding with the visit of the Supreme Leader to Lorestan Province, this higher education institute was formally and effectively promoted to the title of university.